creative lenna

By creativelenna

an osprey day

I asked Steven if he would take me out in Chelsea on the river when he was done at Lucas Boatworks today. Since having this cold, I've cut back on some of my activity and I was getting a little antsy and bored. Of course Steve was happy to oblige and the pups came with us too!

We took a ride for almost an hour I think, headed upstream towards the dam at Ward Lake. I took my own little "waterfall" photos (think very tiny dam!) and thought about hobbs and isbi's entries the other day. There were so many osprey up at that end of the river I could not believe it. The boat is moving and the birds are often moving so it's not easy to get a good photo, but I am quite happy with this portrait. Yes, he has a half eaten fish under one of his claws. I saw some flying while holding on to a fish, so I guess there was good fishing to be had today. We must have seen 15 osprey? Some were on a nest, some in trees, many flying, it was a regular workout just to try to get a photograph! They are really beautiful birds with huge wingspans and I feel blessed to be able to live so close to them. Look large if you dare....


Here is calm so deep, grasses cease waving.... wonderful how completely everything in wild nature fits into us, as if truly part and parent of us. The sun shines not on us, but in us. The rivers flow not past, but through us, thrilling, tingling, vibrating every fiver and cell of the substance of our bodies, making them glide and sing.
 ~ John Muir

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.