York

We orienteered in York today at the Annual Urban event. I made three significant errors in the first half of the course: up the stairs in the multi-storey carpark when the control was at the bottom; on the wrong side of the city wall from the control and forgetting that I had a river to cross on the long leg!! I still managed to finish in 6th place so I must have been running okay but I wonder where I would have been without the errors... ah well!

We did a bit of shopping and lunched in the city and then took the train home. I spotted this view on a postcard but sadly the flower beds have yet to be planted under the walls so it's not quite as colourful as the original (coming your way Trevor, Kathryn and Karen!) Once home we've done several jobs which have eaten up the remainder of the day, but at least the weather was better!

So what is included in the blip? The Minster, Lendal Bridge over the River Ouse (once more busy with traffic after the decision to lift the ban) and a section of the Medieval city walls, plus a few tourists.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.