O's journal

By O

Caulron Linn

This is a picture of Cauldron Linn, a Scottish Waterfall said to be a favourite of Burns - he wrote in a letter in 1787; "After breakfast we made a party to go and see Cauldron Linn, a remarkable cascade in the Devon about five miles from Harviestoun; and after spending one of the most pleasant days I ever had in my life, I returned to Stirling in the evening".
I spent a while trying to find this waterfall, clearly it used to be a major historical attraction, now it can't even be found on the map! You essentially have to cut through fields and make your way to the river, there an overgrown path leads to the waterfall. After some careful research, I discovered that this used to be the Spectacular Devon Valley Railway. Now it is overgrown but you can still sense a bygone era.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.