An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Friends are the family you choose for yourself...

Backblip

This fab gift came in the post for me today from my most excellent friend LeeAnne. It never ceases to amaze me how such thoughtful little gestures mean so much. It cheered me up no end after a fairly stressful week.

Thank you lovely lady from the heart of my bottom, even though your gift perpetuates the myth that I am fond of a wee gin, when we all know the strongest thing to pass my lips is stewed Tetley.

*coughs*

:))))


Now, where was I? Ah yes, it's been one of those great days where I set my mind to things so they actually got done. A wonderful sense of achievement by the time Alan came home from school.

Got Alan’s dinner out the way as quickly as possible as we were being visited by the third and final candidate for the post of support worker for Alan. She arrived dead on 7pm. Good start.

Once again Alan was quite clear in how he wanted to play this so, as with the previous two candidates, D and I chatted a bit with her first to give her some more detailed information about Alan then we introduced her to him and left them to it. We rescued her 15 minutes later. Rachel arrived (who will be the support workers’ line manager) and after a final chat, candidate no 3 left us to our ponderings.

After a short discussion, it was agreed that Rachel will contact all three candidates tomorrow to offer them the post and all being well (fingers crossed everyone please) adding these three wonderful people to our team of Ed and Marion means we will have a fantastic team of 5 to provide any additional support required to allow Alan to become more independent at home and in the wider world, and even more exciting than that, allow him to start living his life!

Exciting (and anxious) times ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.