Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Coming In For A Landing

Today I noticed several eagles in the bay again, so I walked down to see what was going on. I spent over an hour taking photos, over a 1000, as it was just too interesting to stop. First the eagle killed a bird and took it over to the beach (very low tide) and proceeded to stand on it until it was dead. Not a pretty site, but nonetheless quite interesting.

Then the eagle proceeded to lift off and fly across the bay, and land on a piling. At this point I decided I needed to see about a closer view, so walked quite a ways so that I could go out on the docks near where it had landed. It then took off again, going in a circle, and landed right back on the same piling....where I took the photo I've posted. I was able to approach him within about 50 feet....and then he took off. I was so pleased with my new camera...it was spot on during all of the landings and takeoffs.

To see some amazing sequences of "action shots", visit my FLICKR page :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.