wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Inspiration

I love the expressions on the faces of the people in this picture, by George Frankland in 1827. The lady looks disturbed, perhaps a little damp after her boat ride, while her companion has apparently enjoyed the day so far.

Those sandstone buildings on the far right are still standing, along Salamanca, although they are now a little further back from the water these days - a large part of this is now reclaimed land. The mountain looks pretty much the same, as do the hills surrounding it.

It reminds me of the connections between the past and present, with a recognisable landscape in a different time. And it amuses me when my data entry days get too boring.

I've tagged it as the approximate location from which it was painted. Things are a little different these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.