Grand Place Trompe-l'œil

Went to downtown Brussels with the boys. It was great weather, as you can see. Brussels Grand Place/Groote Markt had stands on two sides (due to a procession play this week) and one other side is all covered with nifty hanging decorations to cover the scaffolding as the golden ornaments on that side are being redone. I thought it is really well done and makes for a reasonable trompe-l'œil , especially with that blue sky and little cloud above it. If you want to see the whole image look here Son no 1 had never been to Brussels before, so we did the usual tour including Manneken Pis. Son wasn't very impressed by the small and this time again naked weeing urchin ;-)
The national flags were everywhere, what a match it was last night ! My commiserations to the USA team, what a fight they put up and what a great goalie do they have! I may live in Belgium, but I am Dutch, not Belgian, so my team is Holland, nevertheless I may root for Belgium should they get through the quarter finals if Holland doesn't.

Thanks very much for your comments and stars on yesterday's gladiolus flower, it's opening more today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.