Whoops

Backblip

As is generally the case when up at Commonground, I awoke feeling relaxed, had some breakfast and a chat before setting out on the day's tasks.

The first job was to replace the post for the volleyball net as it had worn away over the years and had a bit of a wobble. I pulled it out and got to enlargening the hole to put in a bigger stump.

There were a few rocks in there, but I didn't think much of it as I whacked away with the crobar, breaking them up. Paul decided that he wanted to have a go and ONE, TWO, THREE whacks later the hole was no longer a hole, but a small fountain feeding the waterfall that developed off of the large water tank. Bugger.

Paul quickly ran round the whole site turning off all of the mains water lines that he could find, but it still took a good 15 minutes before the water stopped pouring out. All other tasks put aside, Patch, Paul and myself set to work repairing the bleeding thing, which required a much larger hole than the one that I'd already dug, and me spending most of the morning with my arm in freezing cold water up to the shoulder.

By lunchtime we were all patched up and repaired and we could once again get a drink of water from the tap.

I did a bit of wood splitting and collecting in the afternoon before driving back with Aaron for our gig at the Retreat. I'm really enjoying our gigs at the moment... I always have done, but I think that currently we're really pulling together as a band and reading each other well.

After that, I was back in the car and up to Commonground. It took me a bit longer to get back due to the ridiculour amount of roos along the Hume - I'd never seen so many grazing along the verges. Very cool sight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.