EdgewoodGarden

By EdgewoodGarden

Stachys macrantha

I was idly watching the honey bees and our native bumble bees work on the little salvia-like flowers of the betony and thought, there’s my Blipfoto for the day. At first, I was intent on catching a bee in action, but I am simple too slow and it seemed to be disturbing their work. So, I contented myself with just the flower heads.
This stachys is spreading under our red oak tree and is displaying a veritable sea of little heads of pink. It likes the damp conditions and well-drained soil of the area. It definitely needs to be divided and taken out from among more precious little plants….but I think that is a project for this fall. For now, I intend to just enjoy our little violet-pink pompoms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.