Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Aurora Australis 1

We were alerted that an aurora was a possibility and I began looking for it at dusk. I’d never seen an aurora and didn’t know what to expect. As the sky darkened I saw an immense ring of faint light overhead. It seemed to take up most of the sky. A little later I saw a suggestion of a green glow in the southern sky beyond my lawn. Over time the glow grew more and more distinct until it was quite clear. Now and then there was red light with the green. The colours moved and interacted in a slow dance, first one and then the other dominating. I drew up a chair and watched spellbound for hours. Occasionally I took a photo until the film was used up. I had no idea what settings I should use- it was rather hit or miss, and, of course, there was no review. Eventually the magical light faded and I went to bed feeling very happy at the wonder I had seen.

I’d been asleep about an hour when I was awakened by the telephone. A friend was wanting to make sure I was watching the show. I got up and looked out the bathroom window and gasped. The whole south and south west sky was lit up red. Fortunately I had another film to put in my camera and I returned to the lawn for most of the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.