Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Ferguslie Bell

Our occasional 'Daytrippers' group outing took us to Paisley today. The original plan was to visit the Abbey, which we did (and I have the photos to prove it), but the person who organises these outings discovered the Sma' Shot Cottages when doing his recce and so included that on our itinerary.

Sma' Shot Cottages are restored and furnished 18th century weavers' cottages and the rooms contain artefacts and photographs from the period when weaving was the main industry in Paisley. The Ferguslie Bell, pictured, was rung to mark the change of shifts (and half-shifts in the case of children) at the Ferguslie Mill.

On returning home this evening I came across more information about the Sma' Shot Cottages which, I must admit, I hadn't heard about before today. An unexpected surprise, although I did enjoy my visit to Paisley Abbey too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.