Kamran

By kamran

Fight at Hasselbachplatz

Instead of blipping this picture rather I wanted to put a picture of another Bachelor Party but that wouldn't be honest. The moment shown in this picture and what followed thereafter was a huge blip of the day.

In my previous blips I gave a hint that on weekends I stay at Hasselbachplatz till late at night. It gives me a great opportunity to see people in different moods and how they behave with each other under different circumstances.

On this night I was sitting with Fidel and others when at around 3 am we heard noise and saw some guys running after the yellow-Tshirt guy. He was caught and was punched and kicked hard (as shown in this picture). Soon we saw a dozen more people getting involved into, and thus turning a small fight into a riot that caused some injuries.

I should admit I was a bit frightened to photograph but still I managed to take around 30 pictures, using 50mm lens, covering the whole event. I thought nobody saw me doing that. Then this happend:

* Soon the Police came and two guys who were with me told policemen about me taking pictures. Policemen wanted to see those pictures but I completely refused to show them pictures.
* I was taken to the police van. In the way I secretly took CF card out and slipped it into my underwear.
* Policeman grasped my camera equipment to look for pictures. But how could it be possible without memory card?
* My camera bag, clothes and socks were searched for CF card. Luckily not underwears.
* All my personal details were written and I was threatened to face legal actions and blah blah. I kept refusing.
* Before Police left I took their telephone number to contact them later in case I changed my mind.

Afterwards, I seriously thought why I was so stubborn. Why didn't I help police and give them the pictures right away so that they could identify people. After all I was an eyewitness. I think it all happened so quick that I couldn't decide. I was afraid that being often in the street I might get trouble from the guys shown in the pictures. Moreover I also had the fear of losing people's trust if they knew I had once supplied (any) pictures to Police.

On the next day, I pondered on the matter of whether or not to give these photos away. Luckily I was able to reach a conclusion through consulting friends. I called Police number and informed them about my decision.

P.S. On the next day, on two occassions some guys at Hasselbachplatz stopped me on my way and investigated about pictures. They were participants from the fight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.