The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

River Avon At Peckingell

I still had some loose ends to tie up concerning the railway path to Chippenham and the route the former railway line took to join up with the main line at Chippenham. After concluding my business in Chippenham I drove up to Cocklebury Lane and parked by the railway bridge over the main line, beside the path to Rawlings Farm.

I walked back along this track until it rejoined the railway path at a point I had walked up to before. Although the railway path continued westwards, it petered out soon after, and I had to use a path across a large field to get back to the car. An aerial view of the scene does seem to show the outline of where the track was though.

I drove back to Peckingell nearby, where I have blipped the polo ponies and the Avon on past occasions. The ponies are away playing polo at present but I walked across to the River Avon and followed a path along the riverside. I'd just seen a heron fly across the field and land on the river near the bridge and stile that leads to Kellaways, but it was not in sight when I got there. My blip was taken as I approached that footbridge.

There is a small stream populated by ducks that leads back to the path where I had begun, possibly created for irrigation and drainage, and in the field on the other side of the stream a pair of tractors were at work collecting the hay in the sunshine.

L.
26.7.2014 (0035 hr)

Blip #1334
Consecutive Blip #196
Day #1573

A Walk At Peckingell, 15 July 2014 (Flickr album)

Lenses: Pentax 17-70 mm, Pentax 55-300 mm x1.4 rear converter

Peckingell series
River series
River Avon (Bristol) series
Landscape series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Hailey Tuck - Don't Think Twice, It's All Right (2014)

One year ago: The Bridge Inn, Horton

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.