Cesuoshe

By Cesuoshe

Hide your Moustache Combs!

It seems my entry from yesterday mysteriously didn't post. Annoying. Oh well, just imagine it was brilliant.

A small thing that I ask everyone about here is at what point Korean men switched from the luxurious facial hair sported by such great heroes as Admiral Yi Sungshin and Emperor Sejong the Great to the clean-shaven and, in some cases, androgynous look. I know that there are literally hundreds of years between the formation of a unified Korea and the present day, but seeing as some of the signifiers of the modern hipster look are definitely here it's a mystery why I haven't seen a single handlebar moustache on a local chap even in stylish Seoul. Actually now I think about it I haven't seen any flat caps either, but they at least weren't around during the first Japanese invasion of the peninsula. I have yet to receive a satisfactory answer, or find a satisfactory beard-trimmer.

This probably wouldn't confuse me so much, except as evidenced by the photo some of the mannequins here come with painted-on beards. I'm all for diversity in modelling, even in plastic person modelling, but I have never seen one of these bearded chaps back home where they may be slightly more relevant. Pointlessness abounds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.