Headphonaught's 365

By headphonaught

020210_ Platform 1, Bellshill Station (033/365)

na?ive [nah-eev]
?adjective
1. having or showing unaffected simplicity of nature or absence of artificiality; unsophisticated; ingenuous.
2. having or showing a lack of experience, judgment, or information; credulous: She's so naive she believes everything she reads. He has a very naive attitude toward politics.
3. having or marked by a simple, unaffectedly direct style reflecting little or no formal training or technique: valuable naive 19th-century American portrait paintings.
4. not having previously been the subject of a scientific experiment, as an animal.

I am naive. Tonight I turned up at Bellshill Station and promptly set up to take a pic. I'm into long exposures and thought this angle would make a sweet view.

I was approached by a chap who worked at the station and wanted to understand what I was doing. His initial frosty demeanor warmed a wee bit when I was as nice as a slice of pie. I figured he was trying to help me and I readily accepted his help... as I said above, I lacked the appropriate knowledge about taking pics in Stations and wanted to know more.

According to him I need to ask permission or at least "be known" to staff. Whilst this initially seems very "jobsworth" it does make sense.

So anyway... I took the pic... thanked him and walked away. Armed with experience.

Anyway... I received the following link from a friend :: http://www.urban75.org/photos/photographers-rights-tube-railways.html. The article talks of photographers rights. It would appear, from a cursory glance at this article, that my tripod was of concern as was the possibility of flash photography.

I guess I have learned something from this experience... something more than the rules. I have learned or maybe I should say it has been reinforced that being pleasant in the face of opposition does work... and that building relationships can make all the difference.

If I ever had the desire to take photos in Bellshill Station again... at least I know this chap and am armed with his advice.

Tx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.