monochrome

By monochrome

The Whisky Fringe

My blipping seems to have fallen into a predictable pattern at this time of the year, what with spotting the same folk on the High Street, and now blipping this same view exactly a year apart.

Needless to say, I was at the Whiksy Fringe again this year. Last year, I had to real tactics - I simply worked around the venue in a clockwise fashion, sampling the whiskies on offer. By the time I got to some of my favourite distilleries, I couldn't really appreciate some of the subtleties of their more distinguished expressions (I'd like to think that this was due to my palette having been tainted by various other whiskies consumed beforehand, but was probably more likely due to the fact that I was a tad-bit pished by the time I got round to them). This year, I decided to alter my tactics by going for my favourite distilleries first - and the fact that Highland Park, Laphroaig and Talisker were all side by side in a row made this even easier. A few cask strength Taliskers later (and all the other Talisker's on display for that matter), I managed to find Ardbeg hiding in the top corner, and had a good sampling of the standard 10 year old, Uigeadail and Corryvrecken.

All in all, a thoroughly pleasant way to enjoy a Saturday afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.