An Apple a Day...

By anappleaday

Darcy's Cucumber Salad

Darcy's Cucumber Salad

This one isn't really a hard and fast "recipe" since it's mostly "eyeballed" but I love it! I love it so much I insisted it be served at our wedding!

1) Wash and peel two large cucumbers. Cut off ends and slice into the thinnest slices you absolutely can. Put them into a bowl or tupperware container.

2) Pour about 1/4-1/2 cup of white vinegar over them and 1 tablespoon of olive oil.(I eyeball it based on how big the cucumbers were. You don't need a lot - not all the cucumbers need to be sitting in vinegar, but there should be a bit of liquid at the bottom.

3) Pinch of salt and a pinch of pepper (to your tastes)

4) Cover with "lots" "tons" or "gobs" of dillweed. Darcy's words were: Be heavy-handed with the dill (to taste, but the more the better). I think looking at the photo is a good estimate. Once you stir it all up, there should be a bit of dill on all the slices.

5) Stir it up (or close the tupperware and shake) to make sure it's all coated evenly.

6) Refrigerate. It tastes best after it's had some time to absorb the flavors. I stir or shake mine occasionally to mix it up while it refrgerates. At least an hour or so!

Notes:
- If you peel the cucumbers into stripes (only peel a strip every 1/2 inch or so) it makes a pretty accent, rather than peeling all of the skin off.
- I tried this with fresh dill once, but I think it actually works better with the concentrated dried dillweed spice you buy in a jar at the store.
- Good to take as a side or salad to a dinner party because it's super easy but it looks pretty!


p.s. I added a few notes to yesterday's recipe as well, if you were interested you may want to look back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.