THOUGHTFUL (3) - AUGUST CHALLENGE

I have always been an avid reader - from when I was very young - reading by torchlight when I was in bed, as my mother forbade me to read, because she wasn't a reader herself. I can lose myself in a book and often do!

"The Light Between Oceans" is the only book that has made me cry!

Sometime ago I saw a review of this book and asked about it in my local library. It wasn't one they had so they bought it in for me. It took me a couple of chapters to get into it but I am so glad I persevered.

I have bought it as a gift for several friends, bought a copy for myself and I have it on my iPad in my Kindle books app. In fact, it's one of the few books, apart from my Bible, that I have read more than once.

I won't spoil it by telling you what it's about - nothing annoys me more than the blurb on the back of a book that "gives away" the plot - but suffice to say it is an excellent début novel by an Australian author, M L Stedman and I believe is going to be made into a film. It will be interesting to see how closely it keeps to the actual book!

It certainly fits the bill for the August Challenge, THOUGHTFUL as it is a thought-provoking book, challenging the perceptions of right and wrong.

Reading was my escape and my comfort,
my consolation,
my stimulant of choice:
reading for the pure pleasure of it,
for the beautiful stillness that surrounds you
when you hear an author's words
reverberating in your head.
Paul Auster

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.