Simply Sky

I am not a photographer; I’ve never been a member of a club or had any instruction, I basically just point and press and hope for the best I delete more than I keep but I guess many of us are much the same.

One thing I do remember and probably from an art lesson at school was that landscapes should be apportioned into thirds; one third foreground, one third subject and one third sky with a horizontal horizon. I do try to heed this however this evening that went by the way side, the seascape was my intended blip as the sun slipped away, and the clouds hung heavy over our river and created an ominous, sinister scene. The rain of this morning was now sporadic; the wind was dying but still bit at my face, North Westerly and icy feeling as if announcing finally the end of summer days.

It is only August but it felt like a winter’s night, the darkness quick to envelope me as I walked to the car. The year it seems is growing old, I too feel older all of a sudden, like a stranger alone watching young people laugh as they walked past, their exuberance making their footsteps like a dance. I stood for a moment before retreating to the shelter of the car and simply drank in the solitude of this place.

I loved the way the fading sun appeared to split the dark blanket of the cloud, the last rays softly falling across the moorings, a few minutes later the sun was gone together with any opportunity for another shot, please enjoy this sky with me tonight for all too soon winter really will be upon us…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.