Peek A Boo!

Inspired by iPhoneographer, I 'bullied' Len to accompany Basil and me to Holme Fen National Nature Reserve just south of Peterborough today. The area was drained to release farmland in the 1850s but is being reclaimed. It currently has the largest area of silver birch woodland in the UK but that will change as the silver birch dies off and other species move in.

There were indeed many dragonflies. The only ones I could get photos of were red darters. There weren't so many hawkers about.

I spotted this common lizard on the bridge crossing the ditch to the woodland. At first I thought it might be a newt, but its feet are far too well developed for a newt. When I first saw it at one end, it was a very dark brown, but when it had crossed to the other side, it emerged with this beautiful gold and azure colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.