CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Bobbin About

I got on quite well with my rabbit yesterday evening. The arms and legs are now stuffed and ready to be attached to its body. This is a toy rabbit I’m talking about, not some concoction by Heston Blumenthal.

I won’t blip the bunny again until he’s complete, and as another emergency Blip, here is some lace that my Mother made. She retired at 60 and then went on to learn to drive, learn how to make lace, and learn to play bridge. I’m not sure about the driving, but she certainly excelled in her lace-making and bridge playing.

This piece is only about 3.5 inches (9 cm) from top to bottom, and is extremely intricate. I really don’t know how she had the patience to do it. The threads are so fine. I can hardly see the individual threads myself even with my specs on. The lace that she made was Bobbin Lace. I keep this piece, which is framed, in my sewing room - just to give myself something to aspire to!

Here's a link to how it's done - it's far too complicated for me to explain.

After my parents died we gave away her pillow and bobbins to a local lace society. I know – you can’t keep everything, but I do wish I’d kept it, or at least some of the bobbins. I don’t even have any photos of it or of her making lace, but at least I do have a few nice pieces that she made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.