Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Eyes Have it...

Macro photography has really opened my eyes to things like wasps ... and it has also allowed me to lose my fear of them. I now look at wasps like this one and appreciate the good they do ...

1. they are good pollinators
2. they eat lots of garden "pests"
3. they are really cool to look at through a macro lens
4. and they don't seem to be at all aggressive (unlike their mean cousins, the Yellow Jackets)

This is, I believe, in the paper wasp (Polistinae) family, although I can't make a more specific ID than that. They are very common here in the summer and they seem to make solitary nests.

I made some good progress today ... I finally made a decision on the car-transport. I don't know why that had me so paralyzed, but it did. Anyway, decision made. And, I made contact with an insurance agent in FL (thanks to Creative Carol for making the introduction!) So wtihin the next few days, I should have that all wrapped up, too. 90% of my change-of-address notifications are done. And I packed 5 more boxes.

I also got my annual physical done and sadly said goodbye to my primary care doctor. I've been going to him for over 10 years and he is the best doc I've ever had. He knows me so well, and always takes the time to talk to me about whatever is ailing me. He was a godsend through the "year of the brain tumor" and I am really going to miss him. I had a little tear in my eye when I drove out of his parking lot today...

It was another beautiful day - one that I mostly missed, darnit. However, I took a quick spin outside with the macro lens and have posted four other shots, starting HERE - two flowers, another view of the wasp and a cool leaf-cutter bee.

Happy Hump Day, people. Three weeks until I arrive in FL...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.