A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Graveyard, St Mary The Virgin, Westerham, Kent.

This may not be the best introduction to the village of Westerham but I felt the image reminded me of the Victorian etchings in some old books I have.

Westerham is another nearby village that has a few famous sons. Major General James Wolfe, of Quebec fame was born there in 1727. His childhood home, now called Quebec House, is owned by the National Trust.

In the late 18th century William Pitt the Younger lived in the village. He had become Britain’s youngest Prime Minister at the age of 24.

Then there was Winston Churchill who lived nearby at Chartwell, again owned by the National Trust. He lived there from 1924 until his death in 1965.

Just to the north of the village runs the 8 lanes of the M25. This traffic once trundled through the heart of the village on the A25.

I have a number of images of the village as I found it today all posted on Flickr.

Finally I have posted another back-blip, this time of my trip to Hong Kong in November 2013.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.