Cats & Dogs

By thecatsmother

Princess Torte

So a few of us are following the GBBO and this week's technical challenge was Mary's interpretation of a Swedish favourite the Princessatortta

....at first I thought, who in their right mind is going to make custard, make genoese sponge, make jam, make marzipan, whip cream....ALL THAT??? ...and then I wanted to eat this cake so I set to.

Original plan was to make it for ds1's birthday, but since I was held hostage by two removals lorries for most of yesterday he had to settle for a Pinata Cake (I will back blip that in a minute) So it is today's bake and today's blip!
...it's lovely like a trifle, but a cake, like a trifley cakey trifle cake. It could only be improved (imo) by using cherry jam, and adding in a layer of cherries, and maybe a dousing of sherry to up the trifle quotient.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.