monochrome

By monochrome

Saltire on Scott (Referendum Day)

On the way to work this morning, I Noticed someone had draped a Saltire over the Scott statue at the bottom of the monument. Not knowing which side of the debate claimed this, I'm not sure how to interpret it. I'm only glad I managed to get a few shots of it before the guy clambered up to wheecht it off (although, when the guy saw that I was taking photos of it, he kindly waited until I had done before removing it).

I've changed my mind many times during the campaign - I wish I was as confident of one side as many folk seem to be, but I couldn't decide 100% on either side. In the end I voted with what best appealed to my conscience.

To tell the truth, I'm just glad all the campaigning is over and the deed has been done - I'm eager to hear the result tomorrow morning to see what awaits, but mostly I hope that the whole thing hasn't caused too much division - what ever happens, roughly half of the population is going to be disappointed, and, if we're to make the best of the situation regardless of outcome, we need to work together to make Scotland a better place for us all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.