A Web of Jewels on the Lily Pond

It was another one of those fantastic, foggy September mornings. There were webs, webs everywhere! I wanted to try for few more shots of the sunflowers in the children's garden at the Arboretum - in mist this time - but first I walked by the lily pond.

When I saw what was waiting for me there, I literally caught my breath. And then I started giggling like a child. For I saw something I'd never seen before: spider webs were strung all over the lily pond, and they were dripping with dew.

I don't even have any idea how the spider that made this did it. What now, spiders wearing water wings? The acrobatics required and degree of difficulty seem daunting. For I have seen many a wonderful spider web, but never before one built atop a pond.

These, my friends, are the simplest gifts: morning, bright pink lilies, and spider webs strung with jewels. The song to accompany this image of a sight I realize I may never see again in my lifetime is Jewel, with Simple Gifts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.