Getting Old...

Today marks my 21st birthday and it has been wonderful to say the least! I've been spoiled rotten by everyone and it's been one of the best days of my life!

I spent the first part of the morning lying in bed opening presents from Rory's Dad (new Hunter wellies), Rory's Grandma (wellie socks and a well bag) and from Rory too. Rory gave me his present in three stages: a tshirt and a minion, the bodywarmer I've had my eye on for ages, and then a card. I cried with happiness as soon as I opened the card, it was so amazing! In November, my wonderful boyfriend is taking me out for dinner at the Hard Rock Café before we head to see Wicked at the Playhouse and then we're spending the night at the Hilton! I still can't wrap my head around it!

It was a quick shower and breakfast before the car journey home to Selkirk for the day. We stopped by Rory's Mum's house en route to mine to drop Rory's washing off, to get presents from his Mum (loads of smellies and a Kipling toiletries bag), Rory's sister (A Waterstones giftcard and sweets) and his Gran (money which I've no idea what I shall use it for) and for a cat h up before heading to my house.

I was greeted at my house by the banner in the photo and numerous other banners and balloons as well as a chorus of Happy Birthday singing as we headed indoors! More unwrapping madness ensued. I got an Ipod from my Mum and Dad (which I'd asked for), a lovely photo book of my life and a beautiful necklace from my sister and a theatre experience from my brother (I shall drag him along to a ballet!) as well as many other lovely presents from my relatives. My aunt and uncle gave me the most beautiful pearl bracelet with a 21 charm on it, it's absolutely gorgeous!

After mum made bacon rolls for lunch, we headed out for a walk up to Tibbie Tamson's grave (sans Dad as he has a bad back). The walk was so much fun and mum kept stopping us all every 2 seconds to get more photos! I was absolutely shattered by the time we got back home, but it so worth it and I got to test out my new wellies and body warmer.

My parents took myself, Rory, my sister and my brother out for dinner at one of my favourite restaurants which was a lovely way to end the day. The food was superb, I had a burger topped with chorizo and mozzarella and it was quite easily the best burger I've ever eaten! The staff at the restaurant brought out my cake and everyone sang happy birthday to me, but luckily the restaurant had quietened down by this point! It was so nice to be surrounded by my family, boyfriend and laughter!

Rory and I had to head back to Berwick after we'd finished dinner but by this point it was gone ten. Rory was absolutely shattered driving home, and after I'd remade his bed, we both collapsed into bed exhausted.

Today is definitely a day I will remember with happiness for a long time to come!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.