Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Gone fishing...

Jeez, how could a day that started out so well have become so frustrating? (Hint: technology.)

Before the day went south, I had a delightful hour at Madeira Beach. Lots of terns and a few shorebirds - all birds I know next to nothing about. Not that it mattered because it was delightful just to walk in the powdery sand with a nice ocean breeze.

I was fascinated watching these terns fish - they hover 20-30 feet above the ocean and then dive headfirst into the water to catch small fish. If you look closely at this photo, you will see that the tern has several tiny fish in its beak. You will also see that it has just left the water. I am not sure, but I believe it is either a Forsters or a Common tern. And as soon as I have my computer hooked up, I will endeavor to find out.

Which brings me to the frustrating part of the day - I had the local cable company send someone out to activate an outlet and several other things. The tech, when he arrived, had not been given ANY info, so was totally unprepared. So now I have two TV's that don't work and my desktop PC still won't find the Internet. My head is about to explode and the serenity I felt this morning is GONE! And the cable company is sending one of their PC techs out tomorrow to see if they can get that part of things working. I love technology... When it works.

For now, I am doing everything on my iPad, which has some limits. Hopefully by this time tomorrow I will be able to blip from my computer... And I also need to find someone who can hook up our TiVo units... Sigh.

Tonight I will be making my first meal in our new home...on an electric range. I don't have great history with electric cooking - I much prefer gas. So we shall see how it all turns out...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.