RSPB Rye Meads Ratty Revisited

I gave myself a day off from the never-ending administration involved in dealing with my mother's care and the sale of the family home. I haven't been to RSPB Rye Meads for ages.

I had quite a lecture on entry, including an apology about the fact that a double-decker bus full of school children were on site and to look out for the cuckoo which had been seen.

I noticed that the place where I shot a water vole just over a year ago is now called Water Vole Corner. I Blipped Ratty on 30th September 2013 and today was more interested in the dragonflies and caddis flies. Just as I changed lenses and was going to proceed to the Draper hide Ratty appeared. Just had to take a pic. Love his quizzical look. "Did I see you here this time last year?" :)

At first I had the Draper hide to myself but then the heavens opened. It felt like an omnibus full of children had crammed in. I loved identifying the wildfowl for them and talking about the birds' habits. The little grebes, dabchicks to me, were our favourites.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.