Robert Stephenson Smyth Baden-Powell reputedly...

... said "people seldom look up".
I remember a sort of "Picture story", Commando-comic style, where he rounded a corner, shinned up a ladder and lay on it while the "baddies" passed underneath.
Methinks I'd probably have looked up.

An Arboreal Tree.
We had a mini-Blip-meet at "The pheasant" Bassenthwaite (NO software, it's NOT a spelling "misteak", it exists).
Anyway, while we continued to catch up on the crack (Which Derwent lass calls "Craic") I also amused the assembled hounds by hurling sticks for them and, of course, looking up.
Where I spotted a young beech tree 10'-15' up a rather fine Scots Pine. What amused/perplexed me really was how it had managed to stay green with the rather long drought we've just had.


Up to 2018.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.