The gate to the lower cemetery in evening light

I ventured out rather late as the sun was beginning to set with a view to getting a blip, although it was beginning to feel a bit desperate. I walked down the path beside the house to have a look out over the valley behind us, where the Lime Brook flows down to join the River Frome. But I found that the scrub had grown very tall since I last walked there and so the views were very limited. I carried on down the steep path to where some old building stones lie in the brook and then found that the paths in that area had been rearranged by the wandering cows so that it was a quagmire and rather impenetrable in my skimpy shoes.

So I climbed back up the path that straddles the hillside and came back to the cemetery near our house. By ow the sun was very low and mostly obscured by high hedges and trees. I managed to get far enough back from this gateway into the lower cemetery to get a view down the avenue and really the shot is rescued by the presence of the solitary pigeon who landed on the path in the background. So it is an emergency blip again, I'm sorry to say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.