Embsay Crag

Thanks for your thoughts on my dream. I've been prompted to believe that it's all quite obvious really. It must have been preying on my mind that my cycling ambitions are giving way to my photographic ones. I'm not sure there is enough time to give over to serious training and photography. I realised yesterday that if I see a great composition while I'm cycling then it's almost impossible for me not to stop and capture the moment. That's become more important than keeping as fit as I'd like to be. The desire to be as fit as possible - which has gripped me all my adult life - is beginning to wane. Without before really acknowledging it, I know I've been preferring a walk into town at lunchtime to do some street photography over a run along the canal. That lack of consistent running is one reason why I got injured the other day. I guess the dream is telling me I've not quite come to terms with this change yet.

It's had to be a mostly working day so just a short ride today - and perhaps the last time I'll get to wear my shorts on the bike this year. It's due to turn a lot colder tomorrow. This weekend I've rediscovered my love of mono landscapes. The light through the winter months is so much kinder to the photographer. It's easy to forget that during the summer when I think it's a lot harder to get good results. The clouds were again rather wonderful today. As always, it's about being in the right place at the right time as both the light and the sky are continuously changing and interacting with each other. I had to wait here about five minutes for the sun to break through. A good investment in time in one sense, but not for training!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.