Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

The cost of sinning.

This morning I came out of retirement for a few hours and went to my old alma mater to give a lecture on the energetics of African wild dogs. As I passed through the gate into the quad at King's College I was reminded of the benevolence and generosity of the University; apparently they haven't increased the fines for miscreant students since at least 1913!

Mind you, back in 1913 the fines were pretty swingeing; walking on the grass would have set you back 2s 6d. In today's prices that equates to £11 based on changes in the retail price index, or £42 based on changes in average earnings!

Luckily I don't smoke and I was careful to keep of the grass and resisted the temptation to carve my initials in the desk for posterity!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.