The second half of life..

By twigs

A busy little bee............

I was hanging the washing out this afternoon when I heard a strange rustling sound. At first I thought it was one of the cats scuffling around somewhere but no - no-one there.

I listened more intently and decided it must be a hedgehog whose body clock was a little mixed up snuffling around in the bushes - but again, no-one there.

So I lowered myself closer to the ground and listened even more intently..........and there he was! This wee bee harvesting some fluff from a dead grape leaf sitting on the lawn. If you look closely you can see the ball of fluff he'd collected tucked away underneath him. It was a real priveledge to watch, and totally fascinating too!! To see him fly off carrying this load under him was even more amazing although I'm disappointed I didn't get any shots of this.

I have no idea what bees actually do with leaf fluff but I figure it must be pretty important for him to work that strenuously on a Sunday!!

Take a look at him in big size - he looks pretty cool.


PS - have just spotted my year ago shot. I still love this one. I haven't seen baby A in absolute yonks - I imagine she's a gorgeous wee toddler now......but still with the lovely big smile and gorgeous eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.