Poppy Tribute

A Time to Remember
Early in October I spent an afternoon as a volunteer at the Tower of London assembling and planting the ceramic poppies. This installation has really captured everyone's attention and I feel honoured to have been given the opportunity to participate in a small way. It was humbling to realise that every one of the thousands of poppies represented one life given in defence of our freedom.

There is a great deal of wonderful poetry written about war, WW1 in particular, the hundredth anniversary of which we remember today. I won't be able to read any of it today without tears..

On Saturday I am taking part in a concert which includes the Vaughan Williams piece 'Dona Nobis Pacem'. This is very emotional music at the best of times and there is one particular chorus - The Dirge for two Veterans - which will require strong nerves to sing without quavering. It uses the poetry of Walt Whitman who is not one of my favourite poets, but this one gets me every time. This particular poem is about a father and son dying together and their burial - it is very beautiful.

My blip for today includes my 'Volunteer' T-shirt and badge. I have included some images of the ceramic poppies I took whilst down in the moat during the planting. Definitely a 'Time to Remember'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.