Fishy Prize

Major shock to the system being back in the city after my holidays. Traffic, noise, people everywhere - yuk. It was sad not getting in the Land Rover this morning with the rods on the roof and heading off for the day's fishing along the north coast, stopping in at the wee shop in Bettyhill for steak pies as a post-breakfast snack.

I now have a car full of fishing gear to pack away in places that don't seem to have space anymore. Still, there is space on my mantlepiece for this tasteful trophy which is to become our annual fishing trip's prize for the biggest fish. I won it with this beauty.

The trophy was an e-bay thing that Dave got for the trip and it was the source of many laughs on holiday with it's birdy beak and scruffy mount - it reminds me of Emu. But now I have it to look at, laugh and remember another fantastic trip...until the next time.

Thanks for all your nice comments yesterday. I'll try to carry on blipping for now...back to the usual scrabbling around for blips at ten-to-midnight.

All I have to do now is remove two and a half weeks of stubble so that people at work recognise me. Or maybe, if I don't shave, I'll be too scruffy and someone will tell me to go back to the river. There is always hope and daydreams.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.