Tarawera Times

By Megl

Nestled in feathers

Finally today I was able to get a look into the bellbirds nest that I have been following for a few weeks. The neighbours were away for a week, but since they have been home, Mum was always on the nest when ever I looked.
Great excitement this afternoon to find that she was off the nest, but as soon as I got up on the table to get some shots she spotted me and then made a flypast dive at me. She was not happy.

But I did manage to get some photos but sadly only one baby, the other egg is still sitting in the nest and I feel sure that it would have hatched by now if it was going to.

I had hoped to catch her feeding the chick, like I did when I followed the tui nesting, but she flew back into the nest and by the time I had climbed up to check it out she was nestled in on top of the egg again and no sign of any feeding activity. I posted a photo on Flickr of her looking extremely angry!

Hopefully will get some more blips once the chick opens its eyes and is more active, although maybe I better wear a protective hat!

Do look at it LARGE as you can also see a bit of the egg sitting in the front of nest nearest the camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.