HAPPY CHRISTMAS AND BIRTHDAY!

When you get to our age, if there is something you want or need, you just go out and buy it, whereas years ago, you would wait until Christmas or a birthday and then ask someone to buy you that “something”.

Our freezer has been “on the blink” and running well below the recommended temperature, so for the last few years has probably cost a lot more than it should have done.

Mr. HCB never does things “on the spur of the moment” unlike me, so it has taken a while to convince him that we needed a new one - and then, cheeky monkey, he wondered whether perhaps I would like it as a joint Christmas and Birthday present. I daresay you can guess what response I gave!

Here are the two wonderful young men from John Lewis, delivering my new present - Andy, the quiet one and Ryan, the joker. Honestly, when you get service like they gave, why would you bother to go anywhere else. They didn’t even want a cup of coffee, although I did offer. Must go, need to write to John Lewis and tell them that Andy and Ryan are a great team and an asset to the company - perhaps it’s because all their "partners" own part of it!

Your work is going to fill
a large part of your life,
and the only way
to be truly satisfied
is to do what you believe
is great work.
Steve Jobs


P.S. Update - I went out for the first time today without my "silver legs" and it felt good! That marathon with my friend, Caroline, could well be on the cards for next year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.