Big Hill

By bighill

Skull....

Maybe cat, maybe ..... not sure....but i found this little piece of amazing architecture in the garden the other day! the dogs dragged it home of course....when i asked Terry he said that many years ago, one of their cats disappeared and he was sure it had died somewhere out in the bush!

Anyway, I placed it on one of the logs on the porch and it caught my eye this evening, after i'd spent many moments wandering around the front yard, with the sun setting and the light doing that awesome dance....taking shots of growing daffodils, red stocks of rose bushes etc.....all very beautiful and images that would convey the light and the forthcoming spring....but then, on my way back in, this little piece caught my attention.

Many years ago, when i was really into painting.....and totally in love with Georgia O'Keeffe's images of skulls....I managed to attain a moose head and a deer head (don't ask...i lived in a hunters paradise!) and i buried them for a year, and when i dug them up, they were perfect! I painted them a few times, kept them hanging around my studio! I love the structures, the colours the texture....all that goes into making a skull.....a pretty awesome piece of architecture if you ask me!

So, here is my offering for today....instead of more flowers (which i love!), here's a skull!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.