SKINNING A CALF

well the inevitable occurred - I lost a calf!

I've no idea if this age old practice occurs in the US - or any other part of the world for that matter - but over here a dead calf is skinned and a foster calf is robed with the skin of the dead calf.

The cow adopts the new 'foster' calf within hours if it's done properly.

My 80 year old Father ( on the left) insisted he help while my young brother - who should have been in his house with his foot raised - insisted he come out and make sure I was 'doing it properly'!!

As they argued amongst themselves I momentarily stood aside and took this shot for the archives.

It makes me both happy and sad because I know it's likely that this is the last time we three will ever work together.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.