Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Sun-dappled shoes on (rather worn) '60s carpet

ASSIGNMENT 11 - 1

These shoes have been GOOD to me over the past five and a half weeks. It's only when you lose the use of a limb that you realise how much you take for granted the things you rely on it for. My broken wrist has brought this home to me big time. It's the little things that hit home strongest: not being able to drive, having difficulty washing, operating water taps, coping with food packaging -- it didn't take long to find out that all of this was going to be a hassle. But the single most significant complication on an ongoing basis (of all things!) proved to be tying shoelaces. This came to light at the very beginning as I dressed to leave hospital after the pin-insertion surgery. I felt really bad not being able to do this for myself, and I had to ask Carl to do it for me.

My feet aren't generally suited for slip-on shoes, because I find it difficult to get a pair which fit comfortably on both feet, but I bought this pair of Ecco shoes in Vienna a few years ago and they've proved to be a notable exception to this general rule. They're fitted with toggle things which pull tight and adjust effortlessly to differing foot sizes. These shoes have really proved their worth since the end of July, and I've worn them every day. I have a further progress check in the hospital first thing tomorrow morning, and I hope to have plaster off and pins out then. If that's the case, this trusty pair of shoes will get a well-earned rest as soon as I get back home.

In the mean time I convinced them to pose for a thank-you blip this afternoon as the sun streamed in through the front door's fluted glass onto my hall carpet. The carpet's been a good friend too. It went down when the house was built in the mid '60s and it only recently began to show signs of wear -- they don't make them like that any more! So here's to you, shoes. Thank you for all the support you've given me in my many hours of recent need. I'm forever in your debt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.