Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Gong & Gecko

Yesterday, I tweeted from Hay-on-Wye, quoting the Wonderspouse's words, thus:

Wonderspouse: oh crumbs, we came to a book fair and we're going home with a stuffed gecko and a brass gong!

So I thought you might like to see those objects - here they are!

I love gongs. When I have my fantasy house, I shall have a number of large gongs hanging around the place, including a massive one in the hall for dinner summoning. I also, incidentally, shall have a Javanese gamelan, which will itself have a superb gong.

My parents have a gong too - now hanging in my father's hall. I'm deeply envious of it and am still hoping that one day I might inherit it? Please?

However, in the meantime, I spotted this small one in a shop in Hay yesterday, so it has come to live with us. I shall doubtless annoy the Wonderspouse and scare the cats by bashing it loudly at random moments!

The gecko is, from the feels of him, a relation of Wystan Staples (who I blipped on January 15th). He has declared his name to be Busoni - I believe he got that idea when he attended a piano recital recently!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.