Croz

By Croz

Graveyard Sennelager

We had an hour to spare this afternoon and went for a stroll and found ourselves in this small, pristine cemetery. I've always liked graveyards during the daytime, unless I'm at a funeral. They are tranquil places. I am able to whisper-read the names and admire the designs of headstones, text and tributes.

My father as a child lived in a house that backed onto a very large cemetery and he used to complain to his father(My Grandad) about crossing it on his way home in the darkness of winter months.. My Grandad responded with the same quote; "It's not the dead you want to be scared of it's the living.' As I was recollecting his words I saw this. I thought the surname on the headstone was somehow totally appropriate and it made me smile and recognise that we humans tend to be far too serious on occasion. I then felt a little unsettled as I realised it was the resting place of a young person, I silently offered my blessings, flicked the brake off the pram and decided it was time for us to leave.

On a less sombre note I'm looking forward to a six day visit to Manchester and a one month stay in Cyprus in October. A working holiday shooting images...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.