Mossy

After all the vigorous cycling yesterday morning, a most relaxing day followed. Evening onwards, I was glued right before the television set to watch all three matches. It was great watching the way Argentina attacked, reminded me so much of street football, perhaps the kind of football Latin Americans are renowned for. And Messi is good. Also struggled to keep awake and watch the England match. USA seemed to have a fast game and a no-nonsense approach against England's big names. And despite the appalling, almost laughable lapse in concentration from the English goalkeeper, it was a great match to watch. I was quite undecided about whom I wanted to support but somehow I was really looking forward to England playing well and winning but that wasn't meant to be.

We had some guests over last night and one thing it did ensure was the good food. After pizza for dinner, we had some delicious parathas S made this morning and I am really looking forward to having the leftovers from the fridge. S also bought in loads of plants. Had I been there with her during the purchase, I might have tried to dissuade her saying the house will resemble a forest with so many. But I would have been wrong. The paintings, the photographs, the plants, all add a personal touch to the spaces they inhabit. Sitting on the balcony with a book, surrounded by plants becomes a good idea.

Today in the afternoon, a sudden storm arrived, it became dusty all around and there were too many sounds of objects falling, glass breaking, doors and windows banging. The winds roared. Planters toppled over. I quickly went out and brought them all in! Unfortunately, the unannounced storm left with the same indifference it has arrived, taking away with it any hopes for cooler weather.

I am in two minds about watching Germany's match tonight given that there's work tomorrow. It starts at 11:50 PM here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.