Flying-leap

By flying

Magistrates Court - Christchurch, NZ

Thought it was apt to blip this building seen as I'm spending so many days round this area of Christchurch City centre.

This is the Magistrates Court built in 1880-81 on the same riverside block on which the Supreme Court had been built less than ten years earlier.  Additions were made to the Magistrates Court in 1909.  The building was thought to be doomed in the early 1980s, but still remains.  In the early 1960s, the court also took over the former Canterbury Soceity of Arts building next door.  This was also expected to be demolished as construction of further new court buildings proceeded, but it too remains, now housing the Environment Court.

The Avon River flows in front of this building and further down the river towards the left of this photo are the previous buildings I have blipped. It is a very pretty part of Christchurch City, as on the other side of the Avon River is Victoria Square, an area where people can sit or sprawl out on the grass in Summer. An area to visit if ever you are in Christchurch.

To the right in this photo you can see a more modern high building - this is the building in which I have been spending my days.  Tomorrow I will be going back as there were changes over the weekend, heres hoping tomorrow will be the last day.

Thank you all for your encouraging and endless support over this period. It has been differcult but one that I'm becoming more comfortable with as time goes on.  It leads me to wondering what will be the next thing to tackle out of my comfort zone where I will have to 'Take The Leap' - wow might be a year of leaps!! Many thanks to everyone of you :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.