a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

Our fine feathered friend

Today Jack and I headed to a place not too far from our house called Buttonwood Farms. They make home-made ice cream, and in July, they have about 15 acres of sunflowers that people come from all over to check out.

They also have a program called 'Sunflowers for Wishes', where they sell bunches of the sunflowers and have hayrides through the fields to collect money for The Make a Wish Foundation of Connecticut which is a non-profit organization devoted to making wishes come true for children with life-threatening medical conditions.

The 'Sunflowers for Wishes' program doesn't officially kick off until this weekend, but Jack and I thought we would see if the sunflowers were blooming yet. As of today, about half of the flowers were in full bloom, so we will be back there next week to get some sunflower shots to share with you. (You may end up seeing a lot of these from me, they only last a little over a week before they cut them all to sell them, so I tend to go often!)

Anyway, today Jack and I enjoyed some yummy ice cream in the gazebo. I got my favorite pumpkin ice cream and Jack got chocolate brownie!! As we were sitting there eating, I saw a little bird come over on the ground and he just watched us. You could tell he wanted to have a little taste, so I threw him a piece of my cone.

He apparently is used to people as I was able to get right down on the ground about 3 inches from his face with my camera!! He didn't move, he just sat there with my cone in his mouth and looked at me!

Jack and I looked him up in our Audubon Society Field Guide when we got home and determined that he is probably a sparrow of some sort. (Jack was pretty insistent that he was an 'ice cream bird' though).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.