Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

The Firebird

- Backblip - London Day 3.

This important family symbol is making its third appearance on Blipfoto.

Hilary created the Firebird from a section of copper for Dad when he was ill. The piece, which he greatly appreciated, represents new life rising from the old. It was much admired over the years by many who visited our family home. Hilary took it back to London after Mum died. There is so much detail, with the beaten metal work forming feathered shapes. It is quite heavy with very sharp edges.

I asked J if I could photograph it during our visit. Not an easy task to convey something of the strength and hope this image has given to us.

I used it for my first Blip entry and again in my 365 entry when I pulled several Blip images together.

We spent the morning in Battersea Park, and then had a family barbecue in the garden. D & M joined us for a stop off on the way to spend holiday time in France.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.