Shutter Trolle

By ShutterTrolle

Red Umbrella

I was out hiking for the first time, along MaCauley Point this morning. It is a very interesting park with much to photograph. It also afforded me different views and perspectives of areas that I thought I knew well - I will be visiting this park more frequently in the next few months!

While walking along the water, my eye was drawn to a fisherman in a boat, going back and forth along the rocks out at the point. I was drawn to him because he had a large red umbrella covering the open part of his boat. The umbrella made sense given how strong the sun was today, but to me it looked very out of place. Even through the trees, all I could see was this red umbrella going back and forth... Eventually the fisherman found a spot he liked and anchored the boat. After casting his line, he pulled out a lawn chair and sat under the umbrella and if he wasn't on the boat, I would be believe that he was in his backyard! The scene looked incongruous, especially with the other boats and ships passing by!

I captured the fisherman sitting and fishing under him umbrella, but after I looked at the image on my monitor, it was too busy and the colours detracted from the red umbrella as the central point of interest. So I cropped everything else out of the image to have him appear to be fishing alone on a large expanse of water, and desaturated the colours, except for a very slight blue in the water and of course the bright red umbrella!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.