If you build it ...

More stuff today for 'the favour' job, and further messing by the 'clients'. Things are being produced bi-lingually, and I was due to get final text today for part of what's involved. Having sent an English-language proof early this morning and getting approval for the design, I got the translation not long afterwards, quickly produced that second version and sent it off. It was a good while before I got a response, which I was expecting to be sign-off and approval to proceed to finished artwork.

But no, what actually happened was that I got an email to say they were meeting a friend at 6.00 pm who was fluent in the second language and was to produce a translation. So what I'd been given, which I'd been told was final, now isn't final at all. I was promised the updated translation for this evening, but got a text message and emails around 9.30 to say this wouldn't be forthcoming until tomorrow morning (because they'd been partying and were feeling too squiffy).

I was not a happy camper, having stayed in until early afternoon expecting sign-off. I thought I'd take the DART somewhere and go for a walk. I got as far as Lansdowne Road, spotted this scene on the far platform and got off the train to blip it. As the umbrella testifies, it had begun to rain, and the sky had become quite ominous. So I abandoned my walk idea and waited for the next train back home. I was no sooner in the door than the heavens opened (to coin a cliché). A torrential downpour soon turned into a thunder storm (lots of loud thunderclaps, but no lightning that I could see).

p.s.
I'm not keen on the current trend to brand high-profile projects such as the Lansdowne Road stadium re-development. It already happened with The Point, the concert venue, and I didn't like that. I like it a lot less in the case of Lansdowne Road. I'll stick to my own little protest and will refuse to use the 'official' name for either place. That'll show 'em!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.