The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Lock In

A hard day's work through Crinan with two other boats. Luckily they were huge monster yachts with loads of crew who did all the gates and sluices. Well, I couldn't leave the helm, could I? To Ardrishaig quite early and we tied up in the basin above the sea lock. After we had two pints of Bombardier in the Argyll, the basin was mad with boats. Huge things. My wee boat, at 23' was sold as a 4/5 berth boat for all the family in 1971. There were couples with wee kids and 46' boats in the basin. Is it right, I ask you. More to the point, where did they make their money?

As Mr T had to depart, and Mr McM was indisposed for the next part of the trip, I decided to leg it home after tying up and go seek a new crewmate. The gender balance hasn't been great.

Arisaig to Ardrishaig - not much alphabetically but what a great experience.
Oh, and waiting for the bus we sat in the sun outside the Slainte and had a couple of very fine pints of a local porter produced by Fyne Ales. And a 15 minute stop in Inveraray - well, I ask you... time for a dram.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.